It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:39 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:01 am 

pizza_Place: zzzzzz
Wow- this is awful.

http://www.sportsmediawatch.com/2017/07 ... iewership/

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:47 am 

pizza_Place: giordanos
It doesn't seem all that long ago that the Nascar fad was on top of the TV and attendance mountain. Probably plenty of reasons for a downfall but constantly changing the rules, cars and fucking around with things generally is not doing a lot of good.

-Ronald Reagan

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 5:07 pm 

The demise of dons contest has taken quite a toll

Frank Coztansa wrote:
I have MANY years of experience in trying to appreciate steaming piles of dogshit.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 5:30 pm 

pizza_Place: Chuck E Cheese
I don't watch much but I don't get the decline. It's all still driving fast and turning left, isn't it?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 5:37 pm 

pizza_Place: Salerno's
How's Tim Tebow at driving/turning left.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 5:57 pm 

pizza_Place: Tony Weed's
1039 Oliver Ave, Aurora
(630) 892-2772
Post 2008, the corporate sponsorship reduction really hurt. Then, phony debris cautions were changing the outcomes of races. When the integrity of the sport comes into question, serious changes need to happen.

Amongst the thousand cuts that has decimated Nascar, the Indy race a couple years ago, where the tires could only make it 15 laps without shredding. Goodyear would not take responsibility and it was crushing.

As for current decline in viewership, the schedule has gotten stale and no new tracks has hurt growth of the sport. I really don't understand charging $50+ for the cheap seats, see half empty grandstands, and instead of lowering prices, they just remove seats. Dumb.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:11 pm 

pizza_Place: Pasaro's, St. Joe, MI.