It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 8:30 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Cormac McCarthy
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2023 3:54 pm 

pizza_Place: Rosati's
One of the greatest American authors of all time.

Non Series:
The Orchard Keeper (1965)
Outer Dark (1968)
Child of God (1973)
Suttree (1979)
Blood Meridian: Or, the Evening Redness in the West (1985)
No Country for Old Men (2005)
The Road (2006)

Border Trilogy:
All the Pretty Horses (1992)
The Crossing (1994)
Cities of the Plain (1998)

Passenger:
The Passenger (2022)
Stella Maris (2022)

Plays
The Sunset Limited (2006)
The Stonemason (1994)
The Gardener's Son (1996)
The Counselor (2013)

Post subject: Re: Cormac McCarthy
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2023 5:15 pm 

One of the classic greats. RIP.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2023 6:44 pm 

Haven't read anything by him. What would you guys suggest to start with?

Frank Coztansa wrote:
I have MANY years of experience in trying to appreciate steaming piles of dogshit.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2023 9:12 pm 

pizza_Place: Roseangela's
RFDC wrote:
Haven't read anything by him. What would you guys suggest to start with?

Probably the Border Trilogy. All the Pretty Horses is a quick read and helps you grasp his style and his main themes. A good place to start. No Country for Old Men is another option. It's short, too.

Blood Meridian is the insane classic. There are a few websites that help fill in some of the details. The novel is not without its issues, but it will stay with you. It sort of burns into your brain the way an amazing landscape burns into your eyes.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2023 6:35 am 

pizza_Place: Kaisers
I read The Road and enjoyed it. Got through about 1/3 of Blood Meridian and put it down. No Country From Old Men is one of my favorite movies of all time. Definitely could tell a good story.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2023 7:07 am 

pizza_Place: Salerno's
one of the best comic book writers of his time

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2023 7:39 am