It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:08 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 84 Cubs playoff question
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:10 am 

Been watching the MLB network thing on different baseball seasons. Great stuff btw. Just finished the 84 season.

In the playoff series with the Padres why wasn't the final game in that series back at Wrigley? Game 1 and 2 were at Wrigley. Games 3, 4 and 5 were at SD?

Frank Coztansa wrote:
I have MANY years of experience in trying to appreciate steaming piles of dogshit.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:28 am 

pizza_Place: Vito and Nick's
RFDC wrote:
Been watching the MLB network thing on different baseball seasons. Great stuff btw. Just finished the 84 season.

In the playoff series with the Padres why wasn't the final game in that series back at Wrigley? Game 1 and 2 were at Wrigley. Games 3, 4 and 5 were at SD?

That's the way they did it--they rotated the 2-3 split each year, not based on record.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:33 am 

pizza_Place: It's gone
No it was 2-3. Lot of urban legend thru the years , even back during the NLCS in 1984, saying the Cubs lost the game 5 at home because they didnt have lights.

More interesting was if they did make the WS. There were rumors that some of the Cubs home games would be played at Comiskey at night.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:35 am 

HawaiiYou wrote:
No it was 2-3. Lot of urban legend thru the years , even back during the NLCS in 1984, saying the Cubs lost the game 5 at home because they didnt have lights.

More interesting was if they did make the WS. There were rumors that some of the Cubs home games would be played at Comiskey at night.

I have heard that their home games would have been at St Louis

Frank Coztansa wrote:
I have MANY years of experience in trying to appreciate steaming piles of dogshit.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:35 am 

Location: Pearl Harbor, Waukesha, and other things that make no sense
pizza_Place: Lou Malnati's