It is currently Tue Apr 30, 2024 1:59 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:15 pm 

pizza_Place: I vehemently disagree
I've been to many college football venues, 28 to be exact and I've had some very different experiences at each. It may be due to weather, enrollment size, when the stadium was built, and the surrounding area. I thought it might be good to start a thread to discuss other people's impressions of some of these stadiums.

Last year I had the chance to check out the newly renovated Texas Memorial Statium at University of Texas in Austin. It is definitely making my top 5 list. Nevermind that Austin is one of the most fun cities in the entire US. Nevermind that the weather was perfect. Nevermind the state-of-the-art Jumbotron. Nevermind the hot girls. On second thought, mind them very close because it is something to behold!

The fans were generally pretty cool to this Yankee. They certainly looked down on Big 10 football, which was surprising to me (especially losing to the Buckeyes earlier that year). I sat near some knowledgeable fans, but I'd say by-and-large that the student body was chok full of meatheads. But at least they turned out to support their team in full force.

The game itself was lame. We saw the Longhorns dismantle Baylor. I have a good amount of respect for Texas football. I had a great time in Austin. It is definitely a sports fan desitination. Lots to do with the lakes and bars on sixth street. Great music too. [/img]

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:14 pm 

Duke football is understandably the ugly sister of the sports program. The football stadium was mainly concrete bleachers with weeds poking through some of the concrete. The wood portions needed repainting. There was no enthusiasm for the team. It was a bad experience, but I was not really there for football. One thing that I did like is entering the stadium at grade level and walking down to the seats.