http://chicago.cbslocal.com/2011/03/01/ ... round-one/

Round 1, Pick 29: Derek Sherrod, OT, Mississippi State
Round 2, Pick 30 (Overall Pick 62): Marcus Cannon, OG, TCU
Round 3, Pick 29 (Overall Pick 93): Quan Sturdivant, LB, North Carolina
Round 4, Pick 30 (Overall Pick 126): Greg Romeus, DE, Pitt
Round 5, Pick 29 (Overall Pick 157): Justin Boren, OG, Ohio State
Round 6, Pick 30 (Overall Pick 190): Cedric Thornton, DT, Southern Arkansas

Frank Coztansa wrote:
I have MANY years of experience in trying to appreciate steaming piles of dogshit.

Post subject: Re: Mock Draft
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:20 pm 

Report on Sherrod:

Pass blocking: Good initial quickness. Eases out of his stance and has the lateral agility and balance to mirror the defender. Good hand strength and has long arms that he uses to latch onto and control his opponent. Generally plays with good knee-bend and leverage, but can lose his anchor when he tires. Can become fundamentally lazy and lean into the defender; gets knocked off-balance and gives up the inside lane. Should improve in this area with greater focus on his technique, but has an upside-down triangle build due to broad shoulders and relatively narrow hips, making him top-heavy and susceptible to being overpowered. Among his better attributes is his recognition. Recognizes the blitz coming and gets a good initial pop on his primary target (defensive end) before passing him off to the guard and working his way outside to catch the rushing linebacker or stunting defensive tackle.

Run blocking: Comes off the ball too high and lacks the pad level and power to consistently knock defenders off the line. Good quickness and hand strength to turn and seal off defenders from the play. Good recognition to release from double-team and get out to the second level. Scouts would like to see him finish blocks with more authority before releasing.